STATE OF MINNESOTA

IN SUPREME COURT

C9-81-1206 & C0-85-2205

PROMULGATION OF AMENDMENTS TO THE RULES OF THE SUPREME COURT FOR REGISTRATION OF ATTORNEYS AND RULES OF THE CLIENT SECURITY BOARD

ORDER

WHEREAS, the Minnesota State Bar Association filed a petition with this Court that recommended amendments to Rule 2 of the Rules of the Supreme Court for Registration of Attorneys and Rule 3.14 (c) and (d) of the Rules of the Client Security Board, and

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court held a hearing on the proposed amendments on November 17, 1993, and

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court has reviewed the recommendations and is fully advised in the premises,

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED:

- 1. Rule 2 of the Rules of the Supreme Court for Registration of Attorneys is amended as follows: Any attorney admitted to practice law on or after July 1, 1988, shall pay to the Minnesota Client Security Fund \$50 in the fiscal year of admission and an additional \$50 in the fiscal year the attorney becomes subject to the first paragraph of this rule. This second \$50 shall be instead of any annual assessment in favor of the Client Security Fund in that year.
- 2. The \$20.00 annual fee shall be collected for the Client Security Fund on a permanent basis.
- 3. The Client Security Board shall report to the Supreme Court when the Client Security Fund reaches \$1,500,000 in value.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED:

1. Rule 3.14 is amended to add new subdivisions (c) and (d) as follows:

RULE 3.14 DETERMINATION

* * *

- c. The maximum amount that may be paid to any claimant for a single claim is \$100,000. In exceptional circumstances, the Board may allow a greater or lesser amount based on the factors set forth in subdivision (b) of this rule.
- d. The Board may, in its discretion, award interest on any award at the rate of interest payable under Minnesota § 549.04 from the date of filing the claim. In determining the amount of interest, if any, the Board may consider:
 - (1) The length of time between filing the claim and its disposition;
 - (2) The existence of third-party litigation; and
 - (3) Other factors outside the control of the Board.
- 2. The amendments to Rule 3.14 are retroactively effective for all claims filed on or after February 1, 1993.

DATED: December 3, 1993

BY THE COURT:

OFFICE OF APPELLATE COURTS

DEC 3 1993

FILED

A.M. Keith Chief Justice